Wrap-Up

January Wrap-up (2017)

1) Power Up (Power Up #1-6), by Kate Leth, Matt Cummings
I loved this one! I had already read the five first single issues but for the final one I was waiting  to read the paperback! In the end my sister got it for Christmas and I got to read it during the holidays!

2) Not Your Sidekick (Not Your Sidekick #1), by C.B. Lee 
I reviewed this one!
First novel read in 2017, that I started on the last day of 2016, and it is already a favourite!

3) Zodiac Starforce: By the Power of Astra (Zodiac Starforce #1-4), by Kevin Panetta, Paulina Ganucheau
Another one my sister got for Christmas. I didn’t love love it but it was nice and fun and I’m excited that there will be more stories!

4) On the Edge of Gone, by Corinne Duyvis
Like Not Your Sidekick, I got this book for Christmas. I really loved it, it is mostly slow paced, its strenght lay on the characters, and maybe you’ve already read my review that I posted only two days ago? 😉

5) Proof of Concept, by Gwyneth Jones
I got that one as an eARC! I had a few false starts because it was difficult to understand what was going on at first, there’s some scientific talks that lost me. But the main character, Kir, grew on me and made me be interested on what was going on. By the end I was totally invested in the characters.

6) Killing Gravity (The Voidwitch Saga #1), by Corey J. White
I had two eARC to read before that one but I just couldn’t wait and jumped right on it. The combination of a beautiful cover and of the premise of a space witch was too strong for me! I’ll post my review closer to the release date on May but : I loved it!!! (So much that I have the cover as my phone wallpaper.)

7) L’homme qui traversa la Terre, by Robert Darvel
Meh, I took this book from the library and liked the idea but it didn’t work for me. Mostly because of the way female characters were treated.

8) Buffalo Soldier, by Maurice Broaddus
Such a good story. Another eARC! I don’t really know what to say more than that I really liked it?

9) Lightning in the Blood (Ree Varekai #2), by Marie Brennan 
eARC once again! I liked this one even better than the first! It’s so cool when a sequel defy the odds and is so good!

10) Passing Strange, by Ellen Klages
My review is here! 🙂

11) Ninefox Gambit (The Machineries of Empire #1), by Yoon Ha Lee
I started that one back in December, it is quite difficult to grasp what is going on and the technicalities of the world building but once I figured things out it was awesome!! Cheris and Jedao are an improbable duo that works well and I was blown away in the end. Though I wish people would mention the trigger warnings needed before recommending it all the time (and I’m happy that it gets recommended so often but, you know, some people need those.)

12) The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, by Ken Liu 
I am SO happy I finished my January with this wonderful collection of short stories! Not an easy read at times because of the historical part that are talked about but I learned a lot. The SFF elements were wonderful. Would totally recommend.


Some numbers:
12 books (2 of them graphic novels)
11 in English and 1 in French
5 from publishers, 1 bought, 5 gifted (2 are my sister’s) and 1 from library

I’m happy with all the books I read in January, mostly I add a lot of times because class only started on th 16th! I also read a 13th book (in french) that was for school and it wasn’t bad, but not one I’d recommend to anyone so I’m not including it. I’ve been also reading two other books for school during this month but I’m still reading them (Les Confessions by Rousseau and Par-Dessus Bord by Michel Vinaver.)


Currently reading:

I’m also starting Caraval tonight!!


8 thoughts on “January Wrap-up (2017)

  1. I’ve actually seen some mixed reviews for Caraval which is why I’m tempering my expectations, but I’m still pretty excited to start it. Again, why is the UK cover so much prettier! I’ve always liked the gold on black theme.

    Like

    1. Really? Well luckily I also tried to tempered my excitement! I’m reading it only hoping I’ll have a good time, I’m not expecting to be blown away or anything! — yessss I love this cover too!!! So pretty

      Like

  2. So glad to see you loved all the Tor.com stories that I’m looking forward to! Hard to believe that Marie Brennan’s sequel is even better than the first one. I loved the first book!

    Definitely want to read The Paper Menagerie now (or any book by Ken Liu really). And I need to get Not Your Sidekick.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also really liked it!! But didn’t review because it’s hard to, without spoiling anything >< But yeah it's a very good follow up!

      Yes!! I'm looking forward to read his fantasy series! I might become a big fan of his 😍

      Not your sidekick is such a lovely book, I hope you'll love it too 😍🙌✨

      Like

    1. Haha yes I’m super lucky to receive their eARC 😀 it made me love short fiction!

      Yeah it’s really an amazing book to get lost into! — great!! I hope you’ll enjoy it 😀 (do you need any trigger warning?)

      Like

Leave a comment